Keeping You Updated With Our
Latest News

Tech Tip: Project Transfer

Tech Tip: Project Transfer

SDS/2 version 7.3 has made it much easier to transfer projects with an easy-to-use interface from the Main Menu. Project Transfer will zip and unzip all the necessary files for transferring a project to another office or location.

Inside the Project Transfer window, the Project packing section allows users to choose the job and fabricator folders to be zipped. Choose where the zip file is to be created by selecting the Browse button for Directory: and browsing to the desired location. Specify the name of the zip file to be created in the Packed file name: field.

Advanced options allow users to specify Status configurations, Plugins, or Reports to be included in the zip file. If Status configurations is chosen, SDS/2 will pack all folders and files located in the conf_status folder inside the SDS/2 data directory. If Plugins is chosen, SDS/2 will pack all plugins or custom members located in the plugins folder inside the SDS/2 data directory. Finally, if Reports is chosen, SDS/2 will pack all folders and files located in the reports folder inside the SDS/2 data directory. 

Once all the Project packing and Advanced options are chosen and the user selects Pack, SDS/2 will create a zip file with the necessary information. This zip file can then be transferred to another office or location by any means, whether that is through email, ftp site, or any other method. 

To unpack a zip file, use the Project Transfer from the main menu. Choose the zip file to unpack and the job repository it is to be unpacked to.

Once Unpack is chosen, SDS/2 will unzip the job and fabricator folders and place them in the appropriate folders for SDS/2 to open them. If any of the Advanced options were chosen when packing the project, a folder corresponding to each item will be found inside the unpacked job folder that contains each of the different items. The job and fabricator can be opened and ran with no issues this way, but if users wish for reports or status configurations to be stored in another location, they must copy them to the new location manually.